My Homemade Muesli

Muesli

muesli with berries

I eat my homemade muesli every workday morning for a high protein start to my day that keeps me full all morning. I take it to work in a little baggie with sliced fruit. I sit down at my desk with a bowlful while I open the morning mail. It’s made with oatmeal, quinoa flakes, roasted almonds, raw seeds, and a dash of cinnamon for sweetness and flavor. I serve it with  fresh fruit such as berries or peaches and milk.  I ate it with freeze-dried blueberries (from Trader Joe’s) when the fresh fruit was out of season.

muesli ingredients

3 cups rolled oats

1 cup pepitas (green pumpkin seeds)

1 cup diced roasted almonds (I get mine from Berkeley Bowl) and/or sliced raw almonds (fewer calories and fat than roasted almonds)

¼ cup flax seeds

¼ cup sunflower seeds

3 Tb sesame seeds

1/2 cup quinoa flakes

optional: 1/4 cup hemp seeds (no, you will not get high from them!)

dash of cinnamon (to taste)

muesli mixed

Mix together and store in airtight container

Leave a Reply

